Fattie Gossip

Resources and discussions for overweight women

Eat light yogurt, and you’re sure to find a man! July 3, 2007

Filed under: In the News,Uncategorized — FattieGossip @ 12:47 am

In case you haven’t come across the uproar that’s quickly spreading on the internet, here’s a recap.

Itambé fit light yogurt has an ad campaign featuring plus-sized models posed for re-creating famous moments in movie history previously portrayed by thin actresses.

ab.jpg

brazil-yogurt-32.jpg

brazil-yogurt-1.jpg

brazil-yogurt-2.jpg

So what’s the big deal? The Brazalian caption reads, “Forget about it! Men’s preference will never change. Fit Light Yogurt.”

Oh where to begin! First of all, I can’t imagine being one of these models, allowing a yogurt company to humiliate me and insult my body nationally.

Second of all, hopefully we all know, that men’s preferences DO vary, and there are men who can find women of all sizes attractive, and of course those who exclusively find larger women attractive…But honestly, I’m not really suprised by seeing an ad like this, particularly in Brazil. Many women struggle with their self-image, and allow that part of themselves to be the most influenced by OTHERS’ views and rules of society. Hence, the ad probably is going to result in the sales it’s after. And as Brazil has been dubbed the most “plastic-surgery addicted” place in the world, it’s no surprise that it’s hosting an ad such as this.

But beyond the weight issue, I want to tackle ANOTHER issue. The ad is telling us, that we as women should behave, eat, and look, how MEN want us to! It’s unbeleivably sexist and based on very (or so I thought!) old-fashioned ideals. Don’t you dare tell me that I need to base my self-esteem on the acceptance or lack their of, I receive from men, or I need to be skinny and beautiful for the sake of MEN! For God sakes, it’s digusting!

 

2 Responses to “Eat light yogurt, and you’re sure to find a man!”

  1. melissa Says:

    screw anyone that tells me how i should look. i see myself in the mirror and hey, i think i’m ok. and my husband still drools for me. so any a**hole man out there can kiss my fat bottom girl a**.

  2. callista Says:

    IF YOU CHECK OUT ASKMEN.COM AND SEACH CURVY GIRLS YOU CAN SEE ALMOST EVERY MAN ON THE SITE LIKES THE HOUR GLASS SHAPE THEY DONT LIKE THE 2X4 BOARD SHAPE! CHECK IT OUT GOOD BOASTER, REALLY TELLING HOW MEN FEEL!!


Leave a Reply

