Fattie Gossip

Resources and discussions for overweight women

UK Singer Mika and the Butterfly Lounge July 3, 2007

Filed under: Art,Celebrities — FattieGossip @ 9:37 pm

Thanks to a comment left by “Tina” on my blog post in search of fattie-related songs, I’ve learned of a new UK singing Artist. His video of, “Big Girl (You are Beautiful)” may be viewed below:

I love the light-heartedness and catchiness of the song :).

Anyways, Mika is a near 24 year old man, who’s recognition and popularity has been rising since 2006. He was once trained by Alla Ardakov (Ablaberdyeva) a Russian opera professional, and used to sing classical music. “Grace Kelly” was his first song to hit number one on the UK charts last year. If you’d like more information on Mika and his musice you can explore his site here.

I think whenever you’re feeling down, you should just play the song I’ve shared in this post. You can’t help but smile when listening to it :).

FYI!!! In the song he sings, “Get yourself to the Butterfly Lounge
Find yourself a big lady…” He’s referring to the first Size Acceptance Night Club in Orange County, California by the same name, Butterfly Lounge, and you can visit their site here.

On the site Kathleen, the owner, explains the story of Mika coming to write “Big Girls (You are Beautiful):

After the show the crowd was sent outside I was able to meet with MIKA. I went to shake his hand and found that instead we were hugging.

He grabbed both of my shoulders and said to me, “I wrote you this song; Big Girl (you are beautiful) this is your song!” 

We talked about the BBC special I had done years ago with Victoria Wood…he said to me when they got to the part where The Butterfly Lounge was featured…the show took a turn and sent a message to everyone saying, “Love yourself for who you are!” He told me he was so inspired that he started writing our song right then!…It was a moment I will never forget; He gave me tons of signed posters and a few full CD’s for the nightclub. He told me he is there for us! I have to say MIKA has a huge heart and it as genuine as they come! He is absolutely adorable, just an FYI for those of you who want too know. He told me that as soon as his schedule opens up that he will be personally visiting our nightclub! (Looks like it will be sometime in April) He also asked for our logo and is having shirts printed out and will be wearing them very soon!!!”

 

One Response to “UK Singer Mika and the Butterfly Lounge”

  1. Wesley Says:

    Would you be interested in selling any of those posters? I’m personally a big fan too.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.